Hi from ALA in Washington DC!

ALA DC bag & program directory

Every year the American Library Association (ALA) has an annual conference somewhere in the US. Publishers, authors, illustrators, and many businesses that work with libraries and librarians attend. They are all trying to attract the thousands of librarians who come from all over the country to buy their books and products.

This year the ALA Annual Conference is in Washington, DC where my brother-in-law’s family lives, and I am lucky enough to be able to attend. I will go to programs that will help me become a better librarian. For example, tomorrow I’m attending one called, “Liven Up Your Storytimes!” I hope I will get some ideas to make our storytimes more fun.

I’m also going to walk through the Exhibit Hall where the publishers put out all of the new books that will be coming out this summer and fall. I’ve already spent a couple of hours at the exhibits and have gotten a whole bag full of books for our Summer Reading Game prize cart.

bag of books for Summer Reading Game prize cart

My 10 year old nephew, Ethan and 6 year old niece, Catherine have also benefited from this conference.

Here’s a picture of Ethan surrounded by some of the books I brought back for him:

Ethan says Big Nate is hilarious

He’s reading Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, which he says is hilarious. He highly recommends that you read it if you like funny books, and especially if you like The Diary of a Wimpy Kid books – he says it’s even funnier than those.

I’ll try to keep you updated on all of my activities here in Washington, DC!

Marci

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

