The Best of the Best

Yesterday the American Library Association announced the winners of youth media awards. The most well know of these awards are the Newbery and Caldecott awards.

Here are this years’ winners:

Newbery Medal: “for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature”
Last Stop on Market Street, by Matt de la Peña

Newbery Honors:
The War That Saved My Life, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Roller Girl, by Victoria Jamieson
Echo, by Pam Muñoz Ryan

Caldecott Medal: “for the most distinguished Amercian picture book for children”
Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear, illustrated by Sophie Blackall (written by Lindsay Mattick)

Caldecott Honors:
Trombone Shorty, illustrated by Bryan Collier (written by Troy Andrews)
Waiting, illustrated (and written) by Kevin Henkes
Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, illustrated by Ekua Holmes (written by Carole Boston Weatherford)
Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson (written by Matt de la Peña)

Interestingly, the Newbery Medal winner is a picture book that also received a Caldecott Honor.

To see all the awards and winners, click here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s